A Rustic Christmas Tree: DIY Country Handmade Ornaments

So I haven’t posted in a while ya’ll and I’m sorry……but I have a VERY good reason!!! I decided (at last minute on Thanksgiving Day lol) that I wanted to do my tree different this year and make all the ornaments for it!!! I so wish I would have thought of this about 2 months ago, because I have been a hot gluing mad mama the past few weeks lol (at the same time I decided to hand make items for my mantel as well…..that post is next so stay tuned!)

*Please excuse the pictures…..I have not figured out how to correctly use my camera to get a good quality picture of the tree, I am still experimenting with the settings so hope to have it soon so I can take pictures of the girls with it! If you have any tips for me please, please, please leave them in a comment, I am using a Nikon Coolpix S6100. I am by no means anywhere near a professional photographer, so I have NO idea at all and just experimenting as I go lol!*

tree, Christmas, DIY, rustic, country, deer, glitter, handmade

Today I am sharing with ya’ll my competed rustic tree!!! (I absolutely LOVE it….but I am a little bias since I made it lol) As always my tree is not a real one; I have never really felt like dealing with a real tree……maybe in a few years when the kids get older I will attempt that! This year I really wanted to have that country rustic look for my tree (as that is what my living room is decorated in). So like I said at LAST MINUTE I went on a mission to making my lovely creations for the tree. Of course I first went to Pinterest to find inspiration for it and learn how to decorate a tree (like the beautiful stores!).

My tree is pre-lite with colored lights, but since I was doing the rustic look I added white lights to it and don’t even bother plugging up the colored ones (even though my husband and kids LOVE the colored ones lol) The first thing I had to make first was the SIMPLE burlap garland. I followed a tutorial here, she used burlap ribbon, but I just happened to have a few burlap sacks that I just cut into strips like the ribbon. Then I followed the tutorial to a T lol…..I promise it is super easy! Then I placed it on the tree….I didn’t have enough to go completely around my tree so I just place it in certain places to make it look like it was circling around!

Then I  made the topper for the tree…….all that took was some sticks from my yard, a hot glue gun, paint and a few sequins! I glued the sticks together by eyeballing it, but to make it easier you could print out/draw a star on some paper and just follow the shape as you are gluing. Then I painted it white and added the sequins! Easy Peasy ya’ll!

My next project for the tree was the oranges……….another easy ornament, not to mention make your house smell FANTASTIC while doing it!!!! For this project you need oranges and a dehydrator/oven….that’s it. I popped mine in the dehydrator for about 6 hours or so then made a hole in them, added string and hung up on the tree. I tried to place them in front of lights so when it is lite up the light shines through the oranges similar to stain glass.

DIY, Christmas, tree, handmade, book page crafts, ornaments,

Next I made snowflake ornaments out of clothes pins!!! I followed a tutorial here but instead of staining them I painted each different under colors with white on top then distressed them. Then I decorated some with glitter glue, buttons, sequins, etc. They are hung by denim strips I cut from some pants legs from my denim stash! (I have TONS of denim pieces that I am constantly thinking of new ways to reuse!!)

Rolling on with the next project I made ornaments out of mason jar lid rings! (I LOVE mason jars and all there pieces, as you will see soon with my next few posts lol) I used the inside of lids (the circle part) to trace circles out of cardboard….I ended up having to trim them slightly smaller, but not by much. Then I painted them white and added different designs to each, some with glitter, gold leaf paint, etc. Then I hot glues them into the rings and decorated around the lid on some with buttons, sequins, pearl beads etc. Each one is different adding depth and variety to my ornaments.

Lastly I made some ornaments from old book pages and thread spools! These are by far my FAVORITE of all of them lol and really simple to make……remember the fans you made as a kid with your mom or in school?? Yep that is all you do! Make fans out of the pages, doing several for some and less for others to make them different sizes. Then I added vintage buttons in the middle of them and string for them to hand with. I took some old thread spools that I had and just hot glued book pages to the middle and added buttons. They hand with wire through the middle with beads on top and bottom!

While adding these different ornaments to the tree as I made them, I also added random pieces of old stuff that I had in the empty spaces of tree. I have a license plate, some kind of cheese grater thing (I think that is what it is lol really not sure!!) some tea cups, a distressed T letter that I made a few years ago and some simple distressed painted wood frames. Around the bottom of the tree I used old suitcases that I had instead of the basic fabric tree skirt. I left one open that had a mirror in it and added lights in it along with another license plate! (When the tree is lite up at night with only the tree lights on the effect is so magical!)

DIY, Christmas, tree, handmade, rustic, country

I hope ya’ll LOVE the tree as much as I do!!! Don’t worry I am working on separate posts for each ornament I made so you can see a step by step look as how to make them yourself! (I was just too excited to get this shared with ya’ll to do it in this one, plus it would have been super duper long lol!) As always if you LOVE this post please share it and leave a comment about what you like about it!!!

If you would like to see my pins for inspiration for the tree and my mantel (not to mention a ton of other holiday projects on my to do list lol follow my Holiday board here!

*Please excuse the pictures…..I have not figured out how to correctly use my camera to get a good quality picture of the tree, I am still experimenting with the settings so hope to have it soon so I can take pictures of the girls with it! If you have any tips for me please, please, please leave them in a comment, I am using a Nikon Coolpix S6100. I am by no means anywhere near a professional photographer, so I have NO idea at all and just experimenting as I go lol!*

country, rustic, DIY, Christmas, tree, handmade, deer, glitter

Would LOVE some tips on how to get pictures to look like this, but at the same time where is is not all blurry. I LOVE the way the lights show up in this one but when I try to take a closeup of ornaments like this, they just blur out too bad!

 

 

Leave a Reply

