Journals for the New Year

journals3

So as I stated in my Goals post for 2015, I want to work on being a less stressed out mom. So to work on this goal I decided to start keeping a journal, to write down how I feel about each day, all the problems but at the same time all the many small blessings. The idea is that each morning read what I previously wrote to work on keeping those problems from happening and reminding myself that the small stuff is ok to let go and not lose my cool lol.

Now I know you can get some great cute journals from just about any store….heck you could even do it on the computer! However I wanted something more my style, so I decided to take a swing at book making and create my own little journal and note books for ideas/inspirations. Now these are by no means perfect looking which I think makes them adorable. My oldest Olivia was just tickled that I could make my own note books so of course I had to make one for her too!!

This is my journal!! It's bigger than the other books. I just sewed the multiple papers to one thing of paper from a shopping bag, then I hot glued at the spine another sheet from a bag then modge podged the front and back together. I did that to hide the multiple strands of string on the outside. Then I doodled on the front to give it a funky look!

This is my journal!! It’s bigger than the other books. I just sewed the multiple papers to one thing of paper from a shopping bag, then I hot glued at the spine another sheet from a bag then modge podged the front and back together. I did that to hide the multiple strands of string on the outside. Then I doodled on the front to give it a funky look!

The biggest one is my first journal and its made from a simple brown shopping bag and computer paper. I did another small one out of a paper bag and the others are covered with some scrap booking paper that I had with computer paper on the inside. I was so inspired by making these that I am working on making a book out of an old book cover!

journalcollage

If you would like to take a stab at making your own little books here are some great places to learn how to!!! (it’s where I got my instructions for the project!):

5 minute bookbinding

Turn an old book into a new journal

 

If you have any other tips for be less stressed, please share in a comment below…..trust me I need all the help I can get lol!!! As always if you LOVE this post please share with your friends! Until next time….

Peace, Love & Pixie Dust

Megan

Leave a Reply

